Labelled disabled

Memes In Foster Care

THE special students in the region’s schools were invited to a Christmas celebration. All the charitable and community groups contributed to make it a memorable event for the children.

I was labelled as a special student. Along with one other student from my school. Her name was Jess and yet out of everyone my age at school she was the one I least spoke to. Even when we caught the bus together from the same stop to the Christmas celebration 50 minutes away we barely spoke a few words.

At first the invitation to the Christmas party didn’t damage my pride. But when I saw my autistic foster brother James there among a stuffy room of handicapped school children in the same room chomping fast food with mouths open and laughing at all the lines of the live Raggedy Ann performance, I knew what I’ve been classed as.

It hurt.

These kids make me…

View original post 97 more words

Leave a Reply

