Radio Daze: Part Three — Burning Down the House

Making a Spectacle of Myself

In 1982 the not very glamorous studios and offices of KNBO were housed in a single story building on Tejon Avenue in the northwest part of town. The northern half of the building was occupied by a popular Mexican Bar-Restaurant called Papagayo Azteca. KBNO Radio took up the other half.

The station’s program director – Santiago Hinojos – had been a banker who decided to make a career switch to radio. His warm, easy-going nature immediately put me at ease during my visit. He introduced me to some of the staff and gave me a quick tour of the office.

During my interview he said he liked my audition tape and soon popped the question, “Would you be interested in a Sunday morning shift?” “Why yes of course,” I answered. I left our meeting on Cloud 9 and couldn’t believe my luck. This radio thing was just too easy.

The…

View original post 1,136 more words

Leave a Reply

