The Morning After

Shelby Carol

_DSC0186 E

Yesterday I let myself go. And while some people may frown upon my honesty and choice to sit and sob, those people also haven’t walked in my shoes. There comes a point in the grieving process where you finally make the conscious decision to break down your own walls and to let whatever happened to you, finally eat your heart out; where you wring yourself out until there are no more tears left. Sometimes it happens instantly. I think of my grandmother when we got the news of my fathers suicide. The cry that came out of her mouth still resonates; it was the sound of her heartstrings ripping to shreds. For me, it’s taken until yesterday to fully comprehend the event that completely changed my life four years ago.

The bond a daughter has with her father is special. And I was the biggest daddy’s girl. He was a…

View original post 1,761 more words

Leave a Reply

