A message from our guest Editor Joseph Horgan

Burning Bush Revival

The strange thing about being an editor is the idea that you might also become a director. I have no intention of directing fellow poets towards what kind of poem they should write or what kind of things they should write about. Who am I to do that? That said, like the rest of you I have my preferences and my hang ups. I remember a few years back in the middle of the boom, in the middle of the most fundamental societal changes, that the editor of The Shop, John Wakeman, had to ask why so few poets were writing critically about social issues. And he asked them to do so. That worried me. If we weren’t writing about our society what were we writing about? If we are not now writing about recession, inequality, the Middle East, or the dangers of getting shot if you are a…

View original post 381 more words

Leave a Reply

